Posts Tagged ‘annoying’

16
Jul
18:20

Noob at scams

Still looking for a job, though I haven’t blogged about it much. I at least email my resumĂ© for the most part, except for the really awful ones. The really, really awful ones.

I’ve been mostly unsuccessful and had few followups, even fewer interviews. That much isn’t unusual.

Recently I’ve in fact received a reply to one of my emails.

Date: July 11, 2009 19:27:38 GMT+03:00
From: XXX.casinomarketingneeds@gmail.com
Subject: graphic design

Hello Adi,
Would you be able to meet up for an interview Sunday at 4:00pm?
I really am interested in your work.

Best
XXX

I was pretty convinced it was actually spam but had my doubts. For one thing, it’s from a gmail account, and I rarely receive spam from those. Secondly, it seemed to at least be targeted at me. I took a chance and replied, said that, yes, I can meet her Sunday (which is actually a work day in Israel, too). I mentioned in my email that I would like to speak to her on the phone as well.

Fun fact: I got the email Saturday evening. The email didn’t say where other than what city, which isn’t really saying much at all.

The call came Sunday afternoon. After the meeting was “supposed” to happen. Not very professional maybe? She spoke “good” English, with traces of something else in her accent. This time she said we should meet at a cafĂ© somewhere along Diezengoff which is slightly more specific. Slightly. Very slightly.

The company, she said, was “the first of its kind.” Some sketchy outsourcing business for casinos. Like that’s supposed to make me feel comfortable. A casino isn’t really where honest men and women decide to make their living – be it as a player or as the owner.

But what bothered me more was that it seemed like an attempt, and a very poor one at that (extremely, in fact) to make me work and then just disappear with that work and me not getting a cent back.

You know, if she at least, say, used the company’s domain name to send me email, stuck to the actual times and just overall didn’t make this sketchy – I would have probably gone for it. But guess what.

Makes me wonder – there are people who actually fall for these types of “traps”? Would you have taken that (freelance if I may add) job even at the risk of not getting paid?

04
Jul
14:52

A Blast from the Past!

It started last night. I was doing jack shit with a friend on wow, when I saw Mail.app had a strange email for me.

Dushkin.org was inaccessible to me: it was 404ing the whole time – probably my ISP’s cache to blame. None of my friends had a single problem, and the same was true for CGI proxies. I rang my ISP that day and they had clearly stated, “we have a problem.”

Fine. They have a problem. And fine, they cache my pages. And that cache is having problems, fine. It’s not the first problem I’ve had, and I’m honestly quite tired. Sick and tired.

The email though, read as follows:

Password Lost and Changed for user: dushkin

Password changed?

I had someone take a look at the site. Someone with… internet tubes that aren’t broken. At first I thought he was bullshitting me, “why is there a guy with a gun there?” But, no, he wasn’t lying, as I soon found out via a CGI-proxy.

In this picture: shitty javascript, real player and horrible English

In this picture: shitty javascript, real player and horrible English

Naturally, I freaked out. What else could I do? Of course I’d freak out, I assumed I protected myself against these things. But then again, wordpress is not flawless. It was to be expected.

I mentioned this one had something to do with Spice Girls? Well, I wasn’t lying, I’m serious. This stuff is a blast from the past. Some serious hardcore 90s trash. Take a look at some of the HTML: (Modified slightly for better lolz)

<META content="Microsoft FrontPage 4.0" name=GENERATOR>

<BODY oncontextmenu="return false" onselectstart="return false">

Holy shit. “Disabling” right clicking? FrontPage? All this page needs now is real player. Wait a second…

<embed name="video" pluginspage="http://www.real.com/player/" src="http://some.url.rm" hidden="true" type="audio/x-pn-realaudio-plugin" maintainaspect="false" controls="ControlPanel,StatusBar" nojava="true" autostart="true" loop="true" height="62" width="165">

The only thing this page was lacking was a Spice Girl photo. And LASERS.

I reverted the database, changed my password and made changes to .htaccess among other things to ensure nobody gets in.

I don’t know whether the guy who did it was being even remotely serious. Namely because of the logs showing pretty clearly an IP in Egypt originating in Cairo:

41.232.6.15 – - [03/Jul/2009:13:43:26 -0500] “GET /visuals/?action=image&image=December%208.png HTTP/1.1″ 200 14458 “http://www.dushkin.org/visuals/” “Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)”

The same IP is the one that changed my theme (which no longer has write access) in case you were wondering why I’m pasting this snippet.

Hey, at least he took the time to appreciate my gallery. I guess it’s something? I guess our Dr.MoZo at least appreciates art.

The second thing I have with regards to him is an email address on Yahoo, which was how he resetted the password by some unknown feat: mazika_aboezat@yahoo.com

Come on, that HTML is like sooo last decade.